Episode #2: Back to the Start

Hosts: John Breslin, Marie Boran and Fergal Gallagher.

Social media and the Boston Marathon bombings, “Start” returns to Windows 8, SpamTitan CEO interview, tech grads in Ireland and the US, #ITwomen, Mighty and Napoleon, lenticular ads, Galaxy S4, and more.

Download or subscribe to this show at technologyvoice.com/show.

For additional show notes, visit the full page for this episode.

Technology Voice is brought to you by StreamGlider, the real-time streaming newsreader for iPad. And by Gone Gaming‘s new game “The Jump: Escape the City“, now available on iOS and Android.

Running time: 1:30:00

00:30 Introduction by John Breslin @johnbreslin
–:– and Marie Boran @pixievondust
–:– and Fergal Gallagher @gallagherfergal
01:27 Ads
–:– StreamGlider http://streamglider.com/
–:– Gone Gaming: The Jump http://gonegaming.ie/thejump
02:09 Topical news
02:24 Social media and the Boston Marathon bombings http://bit.ly/10piE5j
12:00 “Start” returns to Windows 8 http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/2013/may/07/microsoft-redesign-windows-8
16:08 Interview with Ronan Kavanagh, CEO of SpamTitan http://spamtitan.com/
30:14 Jobs for tech grads in Ireland and the US http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/irelands-skills-mismatch–students-urged-to-reconsider-cao-230541.html
43:00 Interview with Catherine Cronin, #ITwomen http://catherinecronin.wordpress.com/
58:59 Irish startups
–:– Get Organised http://getorganised.co/
–:– ePubDirect http://epubdirect.com/ (via Writing.ie http://writing.ie/)
61:00 Cool tech
–:– Adobe Mighty and Napoleon http://venturebeat.com/2013/05/06/adobes-first-hardware-mighty-napoleon-a-pen-ruler-team-for-touchscreens/
66:08 Lenticular image billboard ads http://gizmodo.com/this-ad-has-a-secret-anti-abuse-message-that-only-kids-493108460
69:42 Samsung Galaxy S4 review, thanks to Three Ireland http://www.three.ie/deals/samsung-galaxy-s4.html
83:09 Upcoming events
–:– Rails Girls Galway http://railsgirls.com/galway
–:– 3DCamp http://3dcamp.barcamp.ie/
–:– Startup Weekend Dublin http://dublin.startupweekend.org/events/dublin-startup-weekend-june-2013/

Special thanks to Flirt FM http://www.flirtfm.ie
Intro/outro music is “Alone But Not Lonely” by Stefan Ternemar http://archive.org/details/mtk121
Queries and suggestions to editor@technologyvoice.com
Visit our website at http://technologyvoice.com
Follow us on Twitter @technologyvoice http://twitter.com/technologyvoice

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s